Butterflys

Kia ora,

What’s your favourite Insect Is it a beetle or a ladybug  well my favourite Insect is a butterfly they are so pretty and delicate another thing i love about them is the change they go through I find it so incredible that the can go from a tiny caterpillar to a butterfly all in about only three weeks isn’t that amazing.

I really enjoy writing acrostic poems and love writing them about things I love. What’s your favourite thing to write about?

 

 

One thought on “Butterflys

  1. Hi Irelyn

    It’s Emma here from the Summer Learning Journey.

    What a lovely poem, it not only tells us a story but it is also very informative. I love learning about insect life cycles, I find it so interesting that they can take on many different forms in their life span.
    I do love butterflies too, I used to have swan plants in my garden which is where they like to lay their eggs. I was able to document their life cycles by taking pictures at each stage of their development. Have you heard of swan plants before? If you have space and are able to do some planting I recommend getting some of those if you want to attract Monarch butterflies into your garden.

    My favourite insect might have to be bumble bees, although it is hard to pick just one. I love how big and fluffy they are and enjoy spotting them in the garden. Did you know that bees sadly often drown when they are trying to drink water. I made a little drinking station for the bees in my garden so that they can drink safely with no current to pull them under. All you need is some stones and a shallow pot or bowl – I used a plant pot tray. Then you fill the pot with water and place the rocks inside so that they are just sticking out of the water. This gives the bees a safe place to perch whilst they have a drink!

    If you end up doing some planting or making a bee drinking station I would love to see it! By the sounds of it I think you would also enjoy the Nature Rubbing task that is part of the learning journey this summer. Here is the link if you would like to give it a go. https://summerlearningjourney.edublogs.org/2023/01/18/nature-rubbings/

    Thanks for sharing an awesome poem Irelyn.

    Emma – SLJ

Comments are closed.